Our Impact

Celebrating Boston Now and Next at our 2018 Annual Meeting

Posted by Liliana Piña on May 31, 2018

Each May, we convene more than 1,800 members of our business, civic and government leaders for our biggest celebration of the year. In 2018, we celebrated with the theme “Boston Now and Next.” In his remarks, our CEO, Jim Rooney, noted that theme is meant as a toast to Boston’s current, unparalleled economic success and a recognition of the work being done by the business community to ensure that our next-generation is setup to carry on that success far into the future.  Jim also gave kudos to the leaders in the room for working together on these initiatives, and said he felt proud that the Chamber remains a place where people from all sectors, industries and professions can come together and work to keep Boston competitive.

Our Annual Meeting is also a night to induct Boston’s most influential leaders into the prestigious Academy of Distinguished Bostonians. And this year’s honorees truly embody the spirit of Boston Now and Next with their commitment to keeping Boston the best place for businesses and people to thrive. This year we honored:

  • Karen Kaplan, Chairman & CEO, Hill Holliday
  • Dr. Jeffrey Leiden, Chairman, President & CEO, Vertex Pharmaceuticals
  • Jill Shah, President, Shah Family Foundation
  • Niraj Shah, Co-Founder, Co-Chairman & CEO, Wayfair
  • Joan Wallace-Benjamin, President & CEO (retired), The Home for Little Wanderers

In addition to paying tribute to these incredible Boston leaders, we had the pleasure of hearing a fierce keynote speech from Bozoma St. John, Chief Brand Officer of Uber. Guests were also treated to performances by local Boston artists, Violin Viv, Ilana Katz and Sweet Harmony. Unfortunately, Keytar Bear couldn’t make it, but there’s always next year!

Our 2018 Annual Meeting also marked a transition here at the Chamber as Nav Singh gave his last Annual Meeting address as Chairman of the Chamber Board, a position he’s held for the last three years. We also welcomed our incoming Chairman, Paul Ayoub, longtime partner at Nutter. Learn more about Paul in our recent press release announcing his appointment.

It was a night to remember. And big ups to our many sponsors, as well as our amazing event co-chairs and emcees, Kim Vaughan, Angus Leary and John Fish of Suffolk!

Check out photos from the 2018 Annual Meeting here, and a playlist of our highlight video and honoree videos can be found here!

If you missed our Annual Meeting – or just can’t get enough – you can register for our 2019 Annual Meeting here. Register by December 31, 2018 to receive a special offer. Stay tuned!